APC NWC Appoints Hope Uzodimma, 6 Others As Edo Primaries C’mttee.

The National Working Committee of the All Progressives Congress has announced a seven-member election committee to conduct the June 22 Edo State APC Governorship primary.

Imo State Governor, Hope Uzodinma, is to serve as Chairman, while Senator Ajibola Basiru, was named Secretary.

National Vice Chairman (South-South), Hilliard Eta, announced this while briefing the media about decisions taken by the NWC shortly after the appointment of Senator Abiola Ajimobi as Acting National Chairman.

Ajimobi was named after an Appeal Court upheld the suspension of the APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomole, on Tuesday.

He said an earlier announcement by the party’s Deputy National Secretary, Victor Giadom, cancelling the disqualification of the Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, was “strange”.

According to him, Giadom lacked the grounds on which to take such a decision because he ceased to be a member of the NWC since he resigned his position to contest an election as Deputy Governor of Rivers State.

Eta said, “As the person in charge of the South South, we have no record that Giadom returned after the election.”

He further explained that the lot fell on him to address the media because the acting National Chairman, Abiola Ajimobi was unavailable.

Eta said, according to the APC constitution, when the party chairman from a particular zone is unavailable, the Deputy National Chairman from the zone acts.

In the absence of the Deputy National Chairman, the National Vice Chairman from the Zone where the substantive Chairman hails from steps in.

You may also like...