Nigeria Police Gets 5 New Zonal Commands.

President Muhammadu Buhari, on Wednesday, approved the establishment of five additional Police Zonal Commands, in a re-organisation execise, raising the number to 17 zones. reliably reports that, the force Zonal structure begins from zone 1 and ends in zone 17.

This coincides with a change in the status of the commandants of the four existing police colleges who have been elevated to the rank of Assistant Inspectors-General of Police, AIG.

Untill now the police colleges commandants were Commissioners of Police.

The five newly created commands are, Ondo/Ekiti command with headquarters at Akure; Enugu/Anambra/Ebonyi with headquarters in Ukpo Dunukofia in Anambra state.

Others are Balyelsa/Rivers command with headquarters in Yenogoa; Katsina, Kaduna with headquarters in Katsina, Yobe and Borno command with headquarters in Maiduguri.

A source disclosed that the re-organisation of the force is not only in line with the principle of community policing, but also to combat crime and criminality nationwide.

Similarly, the Force Criminal Investigation Department, FCID, has been decentralised with the Force Intelligence Bureau, FIB, now separated from FCID.

FIB will now be headed by a Deputy Inspector-General of Police.

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. becky ifunanya says: